Each year the Washington State Hospital Association recognizes the excellent work of individuals and organizations who make health care better for the residents of our state. Awards are given annually during WSHA's Annual Meeting in October. Click on the links on the left for more information.


30th Annual Joe Hopkins Memorial Award

Contact: Deborah Swets

Make a nomination now for the 2015 Annual Joe Hopkins Memorial Award

Nominations for 2015 are due September 18th.
*Note: Only Administrators/CEOs and Trustees/Commissioners can make nominations*

The Joe Hopkins Memorial Award was created in 1987 to acknowledge an individual who displays the spirit of Joe Hopkins' vision and dedication to Washington's hospitals, with a special focus on his interest in rural health. The next award will be presented at the Washington State Hospital Association 2015 Annual Meeting, October 7-8, 2015.

Joe Hopkins was a long-time leader in the Washington State health care arena. He was a leader in rural health issues when he was administrator of Cascade Valley Hospital (1977-1987) and administrator of Mark E. Reed Hospital. He offered leadership to all the hospitals as chairman of the Washington State Hospital Association, 1985-86. In addition, he was: President of the Public Hospital District Association, 1981-82; chairman of the WSHA Rural Hospital Committee, 1982-83; and Kellogg Fellow with the Association of Western Hospitals. He served on a number of AHA committees, including the Governing Council for Small and Rural Hospitals. At the time of his death on February 23, 1987, he was a member of the AHA Regional Advisory Board and the AHA House of Delegates.

Joe will always be remembered for his dedication, hard work and wonderful sense of humor. Please participate in the memorial award process that honors and supports his memory by nominating someone to be this year's award recipient.

Past Recipients

Nomination Form 
     Due Friday, September 18, 2015!!


Community Health Leadership Award

Contact: Deborah Swets

The Community Health Leadership Award is given annually to the healthcare organizations that best serve their community's broader health needs.  In this era where health care organizations are increasingly called upon to address the health needs of their community’s population, we’re particularly interested in projects that go beyond an organization’s expected strategic plan.

The Community Health Leadership Award was last presented at the 2014 WSHA Annual Meeting. WSHA is revising the approach to this award in 2015, and likely will not make the next award until 2016.

2014 Winner
2013 Winner - Tie
2013 Winner - Tie